key principles for great hair. it’s not that complicated.

Hair is one of my favorite topics and the one that people also ask me the most about. I have thick, coarse, curly hair and for many years, struggled to manage it. After a lot of reading and style experimentation, I slowly started learning how to tame my curls. During my time working on Sebastian Professional, I also had access to some of the best hairstylists and industry experts who taught me some new techniques, tips, and tricks. I have come to the point that I love my hair and styling it! It’s quite an accomplishment for me, considering that I was always made fun of for my frizzy hair growing up (you can see my curls as a baby on the above). So, ultimately it’s also something I love giving advice about – regardless of hair type.

The question I probably get the most: what hair product is best? Well, not a simple question and not necessarily the most important. In general, there are a few key principles when it comes to hair and managing it that have been helpful to me to embrace as a starting point:

1) Your hairstylist is very important. Don’t cut corners here -spend the time and money to find a good stylist that will cut your hair according to your hair type and face shape. Without a good cut or color, you can’t have great hair.

2) Do use hair products, including: shampoo, conditioner, and some kind of leave-in treatment or styling product (even if you’re not actively styling your hair!) There is no one kind fit all product; you need to find the one that works for you. And different products serve different purposes. If you follow the first key principle and have a great hair stylist, he or she can recommend the right products to meet your needs.

3) If you have curly or wavy hair, do NOT brush out your curls and waves. I include this because I was guilty of this growing up and it’s the one mistake I see women who complain about “frizzy” or “fro” hair make. Comb your hair, add some styling creme, and either use a diffuser or let air dry. Alternatively, take the time to straighten it.

4) Lastly, do also invest in good hot tools (straightening iron, curling iron, and blow dryer) especially if you are using these regularly. You’ll notice a difference in your results and styling time.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, hair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

