protect your skin: 5 tips for a fresh faced summer

sun and beachIt’s sunny and I’m going to be outside a lot this weekend. I’ve always been careful in protecting my skin from the sun. I don’t burn very easily but know I’m not protected from skin cancer and am cautious that the sun can accelerate the aging process. Buzzkill, I know.

There has been a lot of talk lately on sunscreens and their effectiveness in protecting against long term skin damage. There is an article I read in the NY times that in particularly caught my attention, because as someone who is very careful with the sun, I realize that even I am not taking the proper precautions.

We can enjoy the sun and also have many fresh faced summers ahead of us. Here are some tips on protecting yourself from the sun:

Neutrogena Sunscreen1. Always wear sunscreen (everyday). If you are going to be outside, do not rely solely on a SPF in your foundation or moisturizer. It takes A LOT of foundation and moisturizer to get the right amount of protection. You don’t need to splurge here – I use Neutrogena Clear Face Sunscreen.

2. Use lotions versus sprays (this I just learned from the NY times article – apparently the sprays do not apply enough to have the appropriate sun protection).

Ghazaleh hat and sunglasses3. For those days that you’re going to be sitting out at the beach or the pool, wear a hat and sunglasses for additional sun protection. This can actually be a lot of fun!

4. Use a sunscreen that has broad spectrum protection (most do) against UVA and UVB rays. Also, remember that UVA rays (which cause aging) can be stronger when it’s not sunny so you need to wear that sunscreen any time you’re outside.

5. I was taught that any tan is a sign of skin damage. It doesn’t sound like fun, but there is some truth to that. Enjoy your time at the beach, playing sports, or other activities, but rely on self tanners versus laying out to get tan. For the best results, follow Allure’s 10 Commandments of Self Tanner.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

