new ways to wear a jumpsuit

Jumpsuits and rompers are just so cute and seem like an easy summer fashion choice. Throw on your romper, a fashionable necklace, and some cute shoes and you’re good to go.

Or are you?

I have a vast collection of rompers and jumpsuits myself, but unfortunately have put them into an early retirement. They seem so simple, yet they are so complex. It may seem silly, but the deal breaker for me on these fashionable pieces is the logistics of going to the bathroom. Many of them require a strapless bra or no bra at all, and I just have an issue feeling like I’m getting completely naked during a bathroom break. Or, many have a high zipper in the back, which requires discomfort in the zip/unzip process.

Last year I had a situation that I was looking very cute in my romper at a crowded house party with a bathroom without a lock. I decided it was best to not strip down at the party for the bathroom, but haven’t picked up any of my jumpsuits or rompers ever since.

Now that it’s summertime again and I see that rompers are still very popular, I’m ready to give them another chance but with some new principles. Here are 3 ways to wear a romper (or jumpsuit) without all the logistical trouble.

newwaytowearajumpsuitThe reemergence of overalls immediately grabbed my attention because they are essentially jumpsuits that require you to wear a shirt underneath. The current overall styles are nicely fitted and even come in fabrics other than denim. I’m digging these Current/Elliot denim overalls with skinny fitted legs and these denim Free People floral short overalls for a feminine touch.

You can also follow the same principle of wearing a thin tank underneath a jumpsuit, as long as the fabric of the jumpsuit doesn’t allow the tank to create an unwanted fold. This Blank Denim romper is lightweight enough for the summer and with a loose top to allow for something underneath ($118 at Shopbop). I love all the exposed zipper detail on this one.

Wearing a bandeau underneath a romper or jumpsuit can also add a little bit more coverage and can even possibly add a little bit of detail to your ensemble, depending on the cut. This T by Alexander Wang jumpsuit ($365 at net-a-porter) has a sheer button and will look great with a black bandeau underneath.

Other rompers and jumpsuits can be used as a beach cover-up, or stay in early retirement. Time to go shopping for me!

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in fashion, style tips, trends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to new ways to wear a jumpsuit

  1. Nice article!
    Maybe we can follow each other? x

  2. Great point on having to totally undress in a romper, maybe that’s why I never wear mine!
    Great post.
    -Savannah

  3. I LOVE jumpsuits and rompers, I have several! I like to wear a tank top under most of them, but going to the bathroom is always an issue. I like to wear belts with some of my jumpsuits, too, so that’s one more thing not to drop in the toilet! ha

    Check out this jumpsuit I just wore this weekend: http://pose.com/p/36kng

Leave a Reply

