a refreshing DIY lemon oil summer scrub

lemon DIYIt’s hard to find a good scrub that provides the exfoliation AND the moisture needed for smooth summer skin, so my friend Noa and I decided to create our own scrub. Olive oil is the essential ingredient here – it’s a natural deep moisturizer with antioxidants to protect the skin. By adding sea salt to the olive oil, it creates an exfoliant to slough off dead skin. Sugar is much gentler on the skin, so if you have sensitive skin just replace the salt with sugar. The fresh lemon juice and mint (can be dried) add a nice scent to the scrub. An all natural moisturizing scrub for the skin with ingredients you already have!

What you’ll need

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt (or sugar if you’re looking for a gentler scrub)
  • Fresh lemon
  • Mint

What you’ll do: 

  1. Pour a tablespoon of sea salt or sugar (adjust depending on how much scrub you need).
  2. Add 2 parts olive oil for the amount of sea salt.
  3. Cut your lemon in half, take out the seeds, and squeeze the lemon juice to the mixture.
  4. Add mint for scent.
  5. Mix and use before shaving.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips, diy, fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a refreshing DIY lemon oil summer scrub

  1. Sam says:

    I bet this smells really wonderful and citrusy. 🙂 I love using salt as an exfoliater. It’s so cheap and doesn’t have all the nasty chemicals that you find in exfoliaters from a tube.

  2. Jackie Roberts says:

    I LOVE THIS! Much needed right now, just followed you too, loving your blog! 🙂

  3. Chiara says:

    Nice, and I think you can substitute sugar for salt and have a more delicate scrub.
    I always buy a scrub, then remember that I can do it myself and promise myself to never nuy a scrub again. Then I forget all this reasoning a buy a new scrub…

Leave a Reply

