5 simple hairstyles for lazy hair days

I have naturally frizzy, curly hair. I am lucky in that I can style my hair in many different ways, but unlucky in that it takes a lot of time and effort for even the simplest styles. Just wearing it naturally requires a few products and then giving it the time to air dry, just to find out that it didn’t dry so well.

I was thrilled the day I started working for Sebastian Professional, but I quickly realized that the lazy hairstyle I always went to (pulling my wet hair into a bun) would not be sufficient for marketing a haircare brand and talking to hairdressers. Over the 4 years that I worked on the brand, not only did I learn styling tricks and tips, I also learned to find creative ways to look presentable on my laziest hair days.

Everyone has bad hair days (or at least in our minds what we consider bad hair days) or days where we can’t really be bothered to put in the effort. These are 5 current hairstyles to try out for those lazy days.

the topsy tail 5 hairstyles for a lazy hair day - the topsy tailImage (and tutorial) from Camille Styles

This is a hairstyle that was popular back when I was just in junior high and has made it’s way back. To recreate the exact style, follow the tutorial from Camille Styles. For a simpler style, pull your hair back into a low side pony and wrap elastic hair hands every few inches. This hairstyle works best on wavy and straight hair.

slick it back5 simple hairstyles for a lazy hair day - the sleek ponytailImage via Elle.com

The slick ponytail provides you with a polished look. Part your hair to the side and pull it back into a ponytail. If you have curly or wavy hair, straighten the front of your hair (with a flat iron) before pulling your hair back. Add some finishing hairspray to set the look. Since the style is mostly based on the sleek front, you can wear your hair in a low pony, or alternatively a bun or a twist (similar to the Elle style above).

 twist it up5 simple hairstyles for a lazy hair day - twisted ponytailImage from dear emmie

I like to twist my hair as an alternative to braids. I usually twist my hair from my face and then eventually into a bun. It gives the appearance that I put in a lot of effort into my hairstyle, but it really only takes a few minutes. You can also twist only in the front and pull into a ponytail – to recreate the above style, follow this tutorial on dear emmie.

the side braid5 simple hairstyles for lazy hair days - the braidImage via Hairstyles Weekly

Braids come in many different forms, some very simple and most very complex. Even if you have the skills to do a french braid with twists and all, they can look a bit too prom-like or just simply take too long. For a simple and sassy braid, keep it simple and pull your hair to the side and braid. Only takes a few minutes and you’re good to go.

the headband5 simple hairstyles for a lazy hair day - headbandImage via Become Gorgeous

Headbands are part of my signature look. They are versatile and add style to any look. Most importantly, they can transform the messiest and laziest style to something that is acceptable in any situation. Leave your hair down, or pull it back into any style (buns, braids, knots, whatever), pull on a headband, and you’re ready to go.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, hair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 simple hairstyles for lazy hair days

  1. I love these! Especially the “twist it up” perfect for the work week or the weekend! Fabulous ideas! http://www.ashleykiraand.wordpress.com

  2. Jessica says:

    Great looks and so simple. Great post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

