winterizing your skin care routine

Anytime the weather changes, it’s time to adapt the skin care routine. Cold weather can cause dry, brittle, and flaky skin and requires additional care. I wasn’t sure exactly how my skin would react to the extreme Aspen weather, so I brought some of my Birchbox moisturizer samples to try. There were a few that I really loved for the cold weather. I combined those with some of my longtime favorites to create my cold weather skin care routine. cold weather skin care routine by beauty and sass

cleanser: If you haven’t tried the Triple Oxygen facial at the BLISS spas (locations at W hotels), you must. It revitalizes dull skin and gives it an immediate glow. In between facials, I like to use their Triple Oxygen products which range from face wash to a mask and more. Bliss Triple Oxygen Instant Energizing Clean Foam adds brightness to the face, removes makeup, and helps hydrate the skin in dry weather.

moisturizer: For moisturizer, I used one during the day and another at night. For the morning, I loved my Birchbox sample of DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum. In addition to hydrating the skin, it also evens out the skin a bit and acts like a primer. Typically for the evening, I simply use a night serum with minimal moisturizing benefits. But, with the Aspen weather I needed an additional layer of moisture so I used pūr~lisse pūr~youth preserve age delay skin serum (review here).

scrub: My skin always gets a bit flakier in cold weather, so I increased my use of a scrub to 5 days a week. Another sample I received in my Birchbox was the Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator. While it claims to mimic the effects of microdermabrasion, I actually loved the feel of the mini crystals and creaminess of the exfoliator (there is aloe vera, B & E vitamins, and coconut to sooth the skin).

lip balm: Sure, you can use Vaseline or Chapstick on your lips as an easy fix. But if you wear lipstick like I do, those products add too much surface moisture and your lipstick slide right off. Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips absorbs the moisture so that your lipstick will wear all day.

eye gel: For the eyes, a long time favorite has been the Bliss Triple Oxygen Instant Energizing Eye Gel. It adds that instant softness and glow to my puffy eyes.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips, favorite products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to winterizing your skin care routine

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    It’s so important to take care of your skin in the winter!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

