3 trends that need to go away in 2014

As 2013 comes to an end, there are many trends that need to end with it. As Karl Lagerfeld says “trendy is the last thing before tacky”, and one of these trends is definitely at that point. The other 2 are relatively new on the scene but simply don’t make sense.

fitted leather pants trends that need to go away in 2014: leather pantsImage via Sincerely Jules

My feelings on this trend are a bit different than it may seem. I actually LOVE leather pants. I’m not even going into all the things I love about them, because in reality I will probably never wear them and neither will most of you. Other than being unbreathable and not very practical, there are very few people that are willing to pay the near $1000 price tag (faux leather pants are just not the same). Leather pants also draw so much attention to the leg that there are so few of us that would ever feel comfortable in them. I’m sticking to coated denim (a trend that needs to stay).

the flawless sock bun trends that need to go away in 2014 - the sock bunImage via Nordstrom blog

Top knots are great and I understand that many women just don’t have enough hair for a proper top bun. But what started out as a boost took a turn for the worst. The sock bun has been abused and now the overly polished bun just looks too fake and old. There are many hairstyles out there and it’s time to try something new.

birkenstocks (of all kinds)trends that need to go away in 2014 - birkenstocksImage via the Guardian

In the last couple of years, I’ve been going back and forth on Birkenstocks but haven’t been fully able to get on board. I understand they are comfortable. But, they are so just ugly!! I simply can’t go there. I don’t care how many designers try to recreate more fashionable versions of the shoe. There are just too many amazing shoes out there to give this one anymore energy.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, fashion, hair, trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3 trends that need to go away in 2014

  1. I’ll have to disagree with you on the leather pants…I think we are only in the beginning of this “GREECE Wanna-be” stage in our generation. haha

  2. Robert Weber says:

    I agree when it comes to the leather pants!! I know people want to mix textures but my goodness, not like that!!

    I don’t know so much about the buns.. I think sometimes they are over-done but sometimes they do actually look super cute!

    The Birkenstocks kill me and the fact that anybody likes them makes me cringe.

    .x

    Robby Weber
    http://la-prive.blogspot.com

  3. I love fitted leather pants but for the rest I am with you 100%.
    Happy Holidays!
    x
    Nina
    http://trendsurvivor.com

  4. I agree SO much on the Birkenstocks/shower shoes/Adidas trend. I actually cannot believe I’ve seen this materializing in campaigns, public, and even on runways. Like, why?! I need the fashion world to stop trying and just burn the Birkenstock and everything that resembles it.

    Same on the sock bun, it’s a little too perfect for my taste–edgy just-rolled-out-of-bed ones are better, haha.

    Love this post!

    xo
    Abby A.
    http://abbytakesmanhattan.com

  5. I agree with you about the sock bun looking too perfect. I like it for maybe certain occasions but there’s something so lovely about a messy imperfect bun!
    stylethroughhereyes.com

  6. Rubina says:

    Love this list, 110% agree with the sock bun!

Leave a Reply

