it’s a wrap – DVF journey of a dress exhibit visit

Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversary in LA

2014 marks the 40 year anniversary of the wrap dress, introduced and popularized by one of my favorite designers, Diane Von Furstenberg. To celebrate the anniversary, there is an exhibit “Journey of a Dress” at the historic May Company building (next to LACMA) in Los Angeles. I was so excited that DVF chose LA for this exhibit and since I was in town this weekend, my friend Noa and I went to check it out.

I’ve always thought of the wrap dress as DVF’s signature look – it’s a feminine and flattering to every women’s frame – and over the years has come in many different colors and prints. The exhibit is actually more of a celebration of Diane –  with many paintings and pieces of art that are centered around herself. Straight through the entrance, there is a huge room with many, many, wrap dresses, in every color and print made. It’s a fun experience, looking at so many different dresses (some of which were made for the anniversary) in a huge room with DVF signature printed walls. And you learn some interesting tidbits about Diane (I’m trying to not spoil the exhibit!)

The exhibit is free and run until April 1st, 2014. I recommend checking it out if you’re in the LA area (go to the DVF website for more info). Here are some of the pictures from our visit. It’s inspired me to bring out some of the wrap dresses I haven’t worn in awhile and maybe buying a piece from the anniversary collection (and I included some of the dresses I’m eyeing…) I loved it!

Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversaryDiane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversary in LADiane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversary-3Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversaryDiane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversaryDiane Von Furstenberg wrap dress 40 year anniversary in LADVF 40 year anniversary exhibit in LA(Above image via DVF.com, the rest taken with my camera)

Some of the dresses I’m eyeing, starting from left: (1) python combo dress, (2) wrap effect grey jersey dress, (3) signature silk jersey dress, (4) limited edition floral dress. Check the current wrap collection on the DVF websitecelebrating DVF wrap dress anniversary

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in fashion, fashion finds, fun, inspiration, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

