missed a trend? the late adoption how to guide.

introducing an old trend to your closet: the tulle skirtAbove images from Pinterest

The tulle skirt is something I’ve always loved – all overly feminine and romantic clothes (lace) is very “signature ghaz”. Maybe that is why I missed this trend… it wasn’t shouting to me but suddenly over the last few weeks I’ve realized I WANT ONE. I’ve been searching around and the selection is really, really limited. Mostly skirts on sale and not in my size. That’s usually the first sign that you’re too late to sport the trend. Bleh.

Even the best of us have times where we roll our eyes and skip over a trend, only to start craving it a bit too late. Then the struggle comes: Am I too late? Should I still buy it? Is it a waste of money? And more importantly, will I look lame? I say that most trends, even those that are expired, can work when done right. And I’m definitely still wearing my tulle skirt! Here’s a checklist to help you introduce an expired (or near expired) trend into your closet.

Check your closet and your friends. Trends follow cycles. You may actually have something very similar to what you’re looking for in the back of your closet. Several years ago, I had a beautiful black and nude tulle skirt that I gave away (so sad) and is now sitting in someone else’s closet. Check your friend’s closets for these hidden treasures that they may not care for. One person’s donation pile is always someone else’s go to.

Look at thrift shops and the sales racks. Don’t be fooled into spending hundreds of dollars on a trend piece that already reached it’s end date. You can definitely find it on the cheap, so spend the time to look around!

Go for the subtle look. Regardless of your personal style, making a statement with an expired trend is ridiculous. Go for the more subtle look – if it’s a tulle skirt, choose the simple one (versus the full skirt) in a neutral color and a simple top.

Make it your own. Instead of merely copying what you see fashion bloggers or models wearing, add your own signature pieces. This really helps make a piece that seems like an expired trend updated and cute. For me, this will be wearing my tulle skirt with a denim jacket and some low wedges, and bright lipstick (of course).

Own it. With wearing anything, trend or not, it’s all about owning it. Being confident and sassy is always on trend.

 

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in fashion, style tips, trends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to missed a trend? the late adoption how to guide.

  1. Alison says:

    Oh my. I want one too! Great tips.

    xx Alison

  2. Anne M Bray says:

    Cute post! Great tips for the trend laggard.
    If you still haven’t found your tulle skirt, consider making one! Here’s a great tutorial on a “no sew” tulle skirt from Rocquelle at Consider Me Lovely: http://considermelovely.com/2013/02/no-sew.html

  3. Love this post! And it’s not too late! Check etsy – I bet someone can make you one!

Leave a Reply

