maximizing the wardrobe: “working” the crop top

working the crop top

After a bit over a year of being on sabbatical, today I am returning back to the “9 to 5”. The sabbatical has been great and I highly recommend it for anyone who has the chance. It hurts the bank account a bit for sure, but it’s worth having the time to reboot and the opportunity to do all those things that we never have time for. For me, that was starting this blog (yay!), training for triathlons (which has been on my bucket list but required a good amount of swim lessons), and spending time with my family and friends (after living in a different country for a few years, it was important to spend time with those who are most important to me).

Anyhow, it’s been over a year and I had a great opportunity come my way so back to work I go. When it comes to work wardrobe, I’m all about making the most out of my wardrobe which means that I have very little work exclusive clothes. When I buy clothes for work, I always ask “can I wear this anywhere else?” and if the answer is no, it stays at the store.

Since we also spend majority of our life at work, I also try to come up with creative ways to incorporate non-traditional office clothes into my work wardrobe. I know that different work environments call for different dress codes, but some of the simple rules don’t change – look polished, show minimal skin, and if you would wear it to a Vegas club, it probably doesn’t belong in the office. But that leaves plenty to wear, and even a lot of pieces that are “trendy”.

With that said, I’m starting a new series here on making the most out of the wardrobe and “working it”. For the first post, I’m going with an item I LOVE and is possibly a bit controversial – the crop top! Yes, many crop tops will not work at work, no matter what (especially if it has too much of a crop or is too tight)! But there are in fact ones that can be worn to work. Here are 3 ways to wear a crop top one from Zara that is currently in my shopping cart.

work the crop top - over a dress

Zara knit top // Halston Heritage dress // 3.1 Phillip Lim Cracked Leather Satchel // Loeffler Randall pump // Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream in Sancerre

Wearing a crop top over a dress is a great way to use a midi or maxi dress that you wouldn’t be able to wear to work alone. Maybe it’s a strapless or has a revealing cut. Just throw on a crop top over the dress, and voila! You’re office appropriate.

work the crop top - with a high waisted skirt

Zara knit top // French Connection flared skirt // 3.1 Phillip Lim Cracked Leather Satchel // Loeffler Randall pump // Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream in Sancerre

If your crop top falls around your waist, you can wear a high waisted skirt (or pants) to sport to the office. The idea here is there is a slight overlap between the skirt and the top. Be careful of any “sneaky” midriff! Never appropriate. I recommend wearing a tank underneath in case there is risk for any skin.

work the crop top - over a shirt

Zara knit crop top // French Connection classic white shirt // rag & bone/JEAN legging pants // 3.1 Phillip Lim Cracked Leather Satchel // Loeffler Randall pump // Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream in Sancerre

The most obvious way to wear a crop top to work is to simply wear a classic white blouse underneath. To avoid the overly preppy look, go for something without a collar, fold up the sleeves of your shirt (if it is long sleeved), or go with a simple shirt. By the way, I love this classic white shirt – it has a cute lace back that adds a feminine spin and makes the shirt a bit more versatile. 

Would you wear a crop top to work? Leave your comment below, and wish me luck on my first day in the office!

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in fashion, style tips, trends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to maximizing the wardrobe: “working” the crop top

  1. Jessica says:

    Great post!!! Love your pairing. 🙂

  2. love the crop tee paired with a full skirt!

    xo
    dressedby-jess.blogspot.com

  3. nixondoll says:

    Great fun innovative ways to incorporate the crop top without looking like a teeny-bopper! As I transition to my mid-20s and start a potential career, it’s been a bit of a challenge to dress “my age”.

Leave a Reply

