7 ways to stay pretty even when it’s not so pretty outside

It started raining in SF. And A LOT. As someone who has spent most of my adult life living in LA, I had previously adopted an “eff it” attitude with bad weather. The slightest drop of rain meant I was staying home, or leaving the house looking like a complete slob – grubby clothes, frizzy hair, smeared makeup. After living on the east coast, midwest, and in Europe (which meant having to deal with rain more regularly), my attitude has changed a bit. Don’t get me wrong; rain still puts a damper on my mood! But I’ve learned that life still goes on and we can still look great even if it’s not so pretty outside. Check out my 7 tips for staying pretty in the rain.

staying pretty in the rain1. hair: A rainy day is not one to start experimenting with your hair, or taking the time to perfectly style it. It’s just not worth that slight risk of any rain dropping on your hair and completely ruining the style. I know this one all too well! I’ve had several hair days that started out sleek straight and went to looking like a mop! However, a rainy day IS a day to sport a pretty but lazy hair style. Or, just pull your hair back and wear a pretty headband or hair clip.

2. makeup: Keep the makeup minimal on a rainy day and definitely wear a waterproof mascara to prevent the skunk effect!

3. glasses: Have I ever mentioned that I love sunglasses? Well, keeping the rain out of your face is just another excuse to wear them! If it’s too dark to wear sunglasses, sport your prescription frames instead of contacts (or frames with no prescription, no judgment here!) I’m currently eyeing a new pair of thick tortoise frames from Warby Parker that remind me a bit of a pair of Celines I saw in Paris last summer. I NEED them, right?

4. raincoat: I find it so ridiculous that most rain coats don’t have hoods. Anyone else noticed that? Even if you wear an umbrella, having a hood just adds an extra layer of protection for the hair that most of us appreciation. The (rare) hood and the color is the reason I love this yellow raincoat from Old Navy.

5. umbrella: Bubble umbrellas are the only way to go. They ensure that no rain comes your way, and I love the idea of seeing the cityscape out of this one.

6. boots: There really is nothing worse than stepping in a puddle and getting your shoes and socks soaking wet. Ugh! Unfortunately, rain boots are very distinctive and can be big and bulky. While there are cute styles out there, I prefer these Loeffler Randall rain boots that can be passed off as regular boots. And since they are ankle boots, they are appropriate for the rainy spring/summer seasons too!

7. workout gear: I know that rain can be the perfect excuse to skip a workout and stay in. I’ve been there far too many times. But, working out in the rain can actually be fun (which I’m slowly learning!) so just make sure you have some water resistant gear (and maybe a cap) and run in the rain! It’ll keep you looking (and feeling) pretty for years to come.

I would love to hear what other tips you may have – leave them in the comments below.

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips, fashion, hair, makeup, style tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

