finding an orange lipstick you’re actually comfortable with for spring

orange lipstickOrange is an intimidating color to wear on the lips, especially with my olive complexion. But given that electric orange lipstick is one of the hottest colors for spring and that I love bold lipsticks, I figured I would give it a try.  Because orange is a color I’ve always neglected, I never realized how large of a range of shades and choices there are. I also found that every color I tried looked very different than what I saw in the tube, and more so than any of the red and berry shades I’m used to.

It’s less than ideal to try on dozens of colors when lipstick shopping, even if they are in the same color range. After awhile, your lips get stained and all the colors begin to look the same. It’s similar to perfume shopping in that by the end, it’s an overload and becomes difficult to make a decision.  Since I prefer to try on colors before buying, it’s best to go into the store with an idea of what I want. After I had my orange lipstick exploration, I put together a very simple color spectrum to help in finding the right shade of orange. finding the right shade of orange lip colorYou probably have your own preferences of brands (my personal favorites are Bobbi Brown and MAC), consistencies (sheer, matte, etc), and form (lipstick tube, lip crayon, brush). That helps with the first step, next is finding the right color.

This might seem really obvious, but it just wasn’t something I thought of before going to a few makeup counters and blindly asking the makeup artists for “orange”. Aside from a true electric orange, there are other orange-ish shades that have a tint of 1 of 3 colors: brown, pink, or red.

If you’re adventurous, go for that bold electric orange. But if you would like something that is orange while still being in your comfort zone, pick whichever of the 3 colors you typically wear and go for an orange that a blend of that color.

For myself, I ended up going with a reddish orange: Sunset Orange Art Stick by Bobbi Brown. I have to say, I’m quite happy with it! bobbi brown orange sunset

other colors above:
orange: Bobbi Brown Lip Color Orange
orange-red: MAC Neon Orange Lipstick
orange-brown: NARS ‘High Seize’ Satin Lip Pencil
orange-pink: Bobbi Brown Creamy Matte Lip Color in Valencia Orange

top images via Pinterest and Harpar’s Bazaar Tumblr

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips, makeup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to finding an orange lipstick you’re actually comfortable with for spring

  1. Ashley says:

    This was helpful, thank you! 🙂

  2. Andriana Antoniou says:

    Very pretty color on you! I think I could almost pull it off. We love orange in my family!

Leave a Reply

