the lazy girl’s guide to diffusing your curls

lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - attach diffuser to blow dryerI love the versatility that comes with curls and waves. But all those different hairstyles require time and effort, and sometimes I just don’t have the time. Or, I’m just too lazy. There are days that I just wash my hair, apply some hair product, and let it all air dry. I will even let myself do that and go to work. Not ideal and it doesn’t look all that professional to show up to the office with your hair soaking wet. And to add to it, I just never know what it is going to look like once it dries – curly hair can be unpredictable!

I have friends with curly hair who have sworn by a diffuser for years, and for a long time I didn’t really get it. I would get my hair stuck in a diffuser or push it around and get my hair so much frizzier than it is naturally. Finally I figured out I was doing it all wrong. Not only that, I realized I could use a diffuser to style my hair in 5 minutes (and I have a lot of hair, so this may even be less for you). This is totally a lazy girl win.

What You’ll Need:
small towel (ideally microfiber)
a blow dryer with a diffuser attachment
styling products (including a heat protectant)

What You’ll Do:

Step 1: Once you’re ready to start styling your hair, wrap a towel around your hair gently to squeeze out any excess water

lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - towel dry

 Step 2: Apply some hair product to soften your hair and protect it from the heat of the diffuser. I combine a hair oil with my favorite heat protect (Taming Elixir by Sebastian).

 lazy girls guide to diffusing

Step 3: Distribute the hair styling products all over your hair by lightly finger combining it through the ends.

 lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - finger comb product to ends

Step 4: Now you’re ready to start diffusing. Attach the diffuser to the blow dryer and then plug in your blow dryer and turn it on. Gently place a section of hair into the diffuser and let it sit for a minute before moving onto the next section. Avoid getting close to the roots and do not move the diffuser around.

lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - sit curls in diffuser

Step 5: Once you’ve gone through all sections of your hair for about 1 minute each, apply a soft gel (Sebastian Texturizer is my favorite) to your hair to hold the final style.

lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - finger comb gel

 Step 6: Turn on the diffuser again and repeat the previous step.

 lazy girls guide to diffusing hair - blow dry until 90% dry

Step 7: Within another 2 minutes, your hair should be about 80-90% dry and presentable. By the time you reach your destination, it will likely be fully dry!

 lazy girls guide to diffusing hair

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty tips, favorite products, hair and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the lazy girl’s guide to diffusing your curls

  1. Looks so great, and no frizz to be seen! I need a diffuser for sure.

Leave a Reply

