curried quinoa, lentil, and yogurt with mango recipe

curried lentil, quinoa, and yogurt with mango recipeOne of my foods is fresh mango and I’m so happy mango season is here.  A ripe mango is juicy, sweet, and just melts in the mouth. While I was visiting my parents over the weekend, my dad went to the local produce store and got me some fresh mangos that were exactly like that.

So I ate some of it fresh (because how could I not), then I used the rest for this recipe. It is inspired by my love of mango in Thai dishes – mango curry, mango fried rice, the list goes on. But I never attempt to make Thai food at home. There are just some things that should be left to the experts. And maybe I’m too lazy.

Quinoa is great for lazy people – you can make a lot at once and refrigerate to use in different recipes. Oh, and it’s nutritious and filling. Back when I first became obsessed with quinoa and was searching recipes, I landed on quinoa with mango and curried yogurt recipe on Epicurious. The curried yogurt reminds me of the flavors that you may find in some of those Thai dishes I love. Over the years, I’ve refined it to my taste and also added lentils to mix things up. It can be served warm and cold, and another great dish to make on Sunday to eat during your busy work week.

mangos via beauty and sass curried lentil, quinoa, and yogurt curried lentil, quinoa, and yogurt with mangocurried lentil, quinoa, and yogurt with mango and sriracha recipe

Ingredients
2/3 cup Greek yogurt
1 firm-ripe mango, peeled, pitted, and cut into 1/2-inch chunks
1 small lime
2 tablespoons curry powder
2 teaspoons ginger powder
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup dry quinoa
1/3 cup dry red lentils
1 red bell pepper, cut into 1/4-inch dice
2 green onions, sliced into tiny pieces
Sriracha (to taste)

Directions
1. Whisk together yogurt, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.
2. Rinse quinoa and lentils, then add into a large pot with 3 cups water.
3. Add red peppers and green onions to the quinoa and lentil mixture, and mix.
4. Place the pot on the stove and turn to medium heat. Cook until all the water is absorbed.
5. Mix the cooked lentils and quinoa into the yogurt.
6. Add the sliced mangos to the yogurt mixture.
7. Squeeze in the limes and add Sriracha to taste.
8. Serve warm or refrigerate to eat later in the week cold. I personally prefer it cold!

About ghazalehk

I'm a beauty marketer, aspiring fashionista, and health nut. I created beauty and sass to share the tips and advice I've gathered over the years. It's for anyone who wants to look good and feel awesome.
This entry was posted in gluten free, recipes, savory, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment